So, since we’re at a break between Things I Love series, and it’s about time for some more news, I’d like to talk for a moment about our upcoming title, Flood Waters Rising, and another non-fiction book that I’ve had rolling around in my head for a while.

 Over the next little while, I will probably be posting a lot about Flood Waters Rising, giving visitors to the blog a little more history on the world and the characters.

 First of all, the world of Flood Waters Rising is populated by an alien race called the Geedar. Geedar resemble humanoid jackals, but their biology, and their society, is much more complex than a mere hybrid. Most Geedar are born with Talents, innate supernatural abilities that can be passed through genetic bloodlines or unique to the individual. A Talent can be as small as the ability to change the colour of one’s fur or as large as the ability to raise the dead. Geedar society encourages individuals to use their Talent for the betterment of society, but it is up to the individual to decide whether or not they want to take a career related to their Talent. Also, a significant portion of the population are born with no Talent at all. These Geedar often face discrimination at the hands of the small-minded, and the derogatory term for them is a Null.

The main character of the book, Sithon, begins his story believing that he has no Talent, but when the isolated and decayed family home that he has inhabited since birth is suddenly invaded by outside influences, he realizes that there may be more to his history, and his genetics, than he ever dreamed possible.

 So, that’s my little info-byte for today… on to the second bit of news!

 All of this posting on fandom and conventions has gotten me wondering about a little non-fiction book outline I’ve been tinkering with. For this project, I would like the opinions of other fans, and so I will be needing proofreaders whenever I’ve got a draft finished to give me input and the necessary perspective. So keep your eyes peeled… I’ll be putting a shout out in the next few months for readers!

Have a wonderful Sunday! 😀

