Given that I am running a speculative fiction publishing company, there are a few things that you may have deduced about my personality by now. For instance, being able to read is an advantage for both internet usage and book compilation.. Well, there’s another, almost compulsory personality trait that comes along with the station in life which I currently hold: I’m a massive, monumental nerd.

As such, I felt that the next stop on the ‘Things I Love’ tour should talk about one of my major sources of encouragement and inspiration: Science Fiction Conventions.

 I think cons are special to me because they combine a number of things that I have enjoyed pretty much since forever. For one thing, I have always been one of those people who adores ostentatious and historical inspired clothing, and also dressing up in ever-more-elaborate costumes. I can remember getting a make-up kit for my birthday, one of those cheap ones that they sell at Toys-R-Us, with every shade of eye shadow imaginable, and what did I do, the minute my best friend came over to play with it? Why, I smeared eye shadow all over our faces in patterns, to make us look like a lion and a zebra. It didn’t even occur to me to use it as the other kind of make-up. I also designed princess dresses made out of old towels, when I discovered that the unraveled ends looked like straps.

 Naturally, conventions are wonderful places for people who like to costume. Although there are a lot of well-publicized cosplay fails floating around the internet these days, for the most part, I find that those people are in the minority. You see a lot of amazing, creative and unusual costumes at conventions that you’d never see anywhere else– from costumes that serve as political commentary, to cool hybrids and interpretations on familiar themes like Star Trek and Doctor Who. Ever seen the Steampunk Ghostbusters? Well you can if you go to the right cons.

 I have worn a lot of things to a lot of conventions, but here are some of my favourite outfits, courtesy of Facebook. Being able to wear pretty much whatever you want, no matter how flamboyant? Come on, you can’t tell me that you don’t want to try this!

Tomorrow… Panels! The Good, the Bad, and the Noisy.

