We’re going to be at Polaris Convention 25… are you?

Polaris (formerly Toronto Trek) is an annual Science Fiction and Fantasy Convention held at the Sheraton Toronto North Hotel. This year, it’s running from July 15-18th. We’re going to be involved in lots of stuff, from panels to room parties (and maybe even a little bit of costuming!) so come on out and don’t miss a chance to hang out with yours truly, and lots of other fun and exciting literary guests. 

This year, Brandon Sanderson is going to be there, and my fangirl heart may just be exploding with squee. I never followed Wheel of Time, so his work there is a bit lost on me, but I adored the Mistborn Trilogy. It’s one of the few book series to ever move me to tears at the end. And his worldbuilding… well, let’s just say I won’t be missing the panel he’s doing on that topic, if I can help it. There are also lots of great local authors to discover, such as Rob St. Martin, whose teen girl pirate epic, Sunset Val, rocked my socks last year with its risk-taking plot and stong female characters. And don’t forget to get your hands on a copy of Small Magics, by Erik Buchanan, if Dragon Moon Press is there. I know they have been several other years. There’s also a sequel to Small Magics that was really good.

It’s the 25th anniversary of Polaris this year, and they’re really pulling out all the stops. There are some really exciting panels going on, and I’m expecting to see some absolutely epic Star Trek costumes, because that’s the theme they’ve set this year to challenge the costumers.  

Currently, I know what panels I’m on, but I don’t know what time they’ve been set for, so my panel schedule will be posted closer to the convention. In the meantime, if you want more information on this wonderful event, you can visit http://www.tcon.ca for all the details.

